Geopolitical Position
Yulin City is situated in the southeast of Guangxi, iIt links Wuzhou City and Western Guangdong Province in the southeast while bordering Guigang City in the north and links Beihai and Qinzhou City in the west. It is located in the center of seven cities (Beihai, Qinzhou, Nanning, Liuzhou, Wuzhou Maoming and Zhanjiang) in South China, about 200 kilometers away from each. It is 636 kilometers from Shenzhen City, approximately 474 kilometers from Guangzhou, and 572 kilometers from Zhuhai. It is on a convenient route in the southwest to reach the coast.

The History of Yulin
Yulin was called Yuzhou in ancient times, It was located in Nanliu County (now known as Yulin City) in the second year of Song Zhidao (A.D. 966) which capital was set in the center of nowadays Yulin City. Due to the long history, Yulin owns the reputation of the Ancient City of One Thousand Years. Since the establishment of New China, Yulin Prefecture was set up which headquarter was in Yulin County having jurisdiction over six counties including Yulin, Xinye, Bobai, Luchuan, Beiliu and Guixian. In 1955, Yuzhou Government submitted an application to the State Council for renaming as Yulin which means the jades as many as a forest. On 30 of March 1956, Premier Zhou Enlai approved their application. In July 1958, Nanliu turned into Yulin Administration Region administering eight counties inclusive of Yulin, Guixian, Guiping, Rongxian, Luchuan, Beiliu and Bohai. In 1971, it was changed again into Yulin Prefecture.

Yulin County was removed on Oct. 8, 1983 and the original county-level Yulin Prefecture was divided into two parts: Yulin Prefecture and prefecture-level Guigang City which has jurisdiction over county-level Guigang City, Guiping City and Pingnan County. Approved by the State Council in Apr. 1997, Guangxi provincial government issued document to remove Yulin Prefecture and county-level Yulin City having the jurisdiction over Yuzhou and Fumian YulinDistricts, Beiliu City, Rongxian County, Luchuan County, Bobai County and Xinye County, altogether 119 towns.

Yulin City is close to the ocean in the south and located in a low longitude zone. In the south of the Tropic of Cancer, it experiences a south sub-tropical monsoon climate. It has a warm climate with an average annual temperature of 21 centigrade. It has abundant rainfall with a yearly precipitation of 1,650 mm, and enjoys abundant sunshine with an average yearly sunshine period of 1,795 hours. Its frost-free period is almost 100% with an average yearly frost-free period of 346 days. Serious droughts and floods have not taken place in Yulin's history.

Administrative Division
Yuzhou and Fumian Districts, Rongxian, Luchuan, Bobai and Xingye Counties and Beiliu City are at present within the jurisdiction of Yulin City.

Yulin City covers an area of 12,838 square kilometers.

The total population in over 5,63 million, of which 98.9% are of Han nationality. About one million people from Yulin now live abroad, in Hong Kong or Macao, forming two fifths of the total overseas population from Guangxi province. Yulin is the largest hometown of overseas Chinese of Guangxi province as well as the third largest of China.



Detian Waterfall
The Detian Waterfall in the Guangxi Zhuang Autonomous Region, it lies in a subtropical area along the Sino-Vietnamese border, and is the second largest transnational waterfall in the world.
Mount Qingxiu
Tianci Lake is the central scenic area on Qingxiu Hill. On its southern bank is a long corridor leading to Longxiang Pagoda on the top of the hill.
South Lake Park
Situated in the southeast of the city center, South Lake Park is one with half of an area water and the other half garden.
Pass Kunlun
Pass Kunlun is in the east of Nanning, it is a renowned old battlefield, It is a natural barrier of Nanning, a place contested by all strategists.